泰晤士河防洪 – Oriental Sheet Piling

英国

德特福德河


德特福德河是泰晤士河的一条支流,位于伦敦,在泰晤士河水闸内侧。为了保护约33 000户家庭免受洪水危害,英国环境部已经确定要沿德特福德河建五个码头。现有的锚碇木桩结构即将达到设计使用期限。五个已确定的码头为肯特码头、灰码头、塔奈特码头、 希尔顿码头、撒克逊码头。

关于该项目


希尔顿码头长109m,最高处支挡高度为7m。基于该地将来的发展计划,锚碇结构被排除在外,Jacobs/Volker Stevin提出了一种创新的解决方案,即复合墙体统(支撑式结构)。

新的墙体有100年的设计使用寿命并且包含生物多样性计划。本工程钢板桩用量为1 040吨,型号是AZ 41-700,材质是S430GP,钢板桩长16.5m到17.5m。钢板桩由12m长的305×223 HP承重桩支撑,承重桩位于板桩墙前侧,倾斜角度为10度,由HP承重桩间的木板材支撑。

在钢板桩和HP承重桩之间注入混凝土灌浆至开挖深度,露出砂砾层,使结构共同作用。混凝土块体顶端位于平均小潮高潮面,使得其上的种植范围最大化,提供更大的环境栖息地。

这种创新的“复合悬臂”钢板桩结构的施工也存在挑战:工作面仅限于现有墙体后方10m,不足以支撑施工荷载。此外,有些地方的现有墙体不能承受传统施工技术产生的振动。

为了满足施工条件,将ABI MRZV-V振动锤(变频)装在导杆上,或者是振动最小的地方,Stent/Giken采用Giken ECO 700S打桩机,压力约为100吨。在打桩之前,先用螺旋钻预钻孔,打桩时采用高压水枪辅助。

钢板桩先临时锚碇(混凝土锚块),然后在混凝土锚块和钢板桩之间架设一座栈桥,注意避免钢板桩墙后地面有任何超载。通过栈桥,挖掘机可以移除旧的木结构,并将前沿开挖至砾石层。此外,也可以在栈桥上施工HP斜桩。安装好HP斜桩之间的木板之后,将大量的混凝土灌入墙体,将墙体和HP斜桩连接成一种类似“框架”的复合结构。

临时施工阶段测得的实际变形要小于设计时的计算变形。承载能力极限状态下,墙后考虑20kPa的超载时,最后施工阶段的极限变形是200mm。为了达到设计寿命,考虑牺牲钢板桩厚度的抗腐蚀方法,不考虑在表面采取防腐措施。

原有墙体状况、场地条件限制、悬臂方案要求以及当地自然环境的保护要求等构成了一个非常复杂的问题。Jacobs工程公司和早期承包商 Volker Stevin 选择钢板桩和钢承重桩组合结构,该组合结构可以完美地满足工程的技术和经济方面的要求。

泰晤士河防洪
德特福德 | 英国


客户
客户顾问
主要承包商
承包商顾问
承包商
钢板桩
长度
钢级
总共
HP轴承桩
环境署
雅各布斯工程集团公司
沃尔克斯蒂文
Tony Gee 和合伙人
Stent / Giken 合资企业
AZ 41-700
16.5 - 17.5米
S 430 GP
1040吨
HP 305*223 12.0米

Flood Defenses on River Thames – Oriental Sheet Piling

London

Deptford Creek


Deptford Creek is a tributary of the Thames in London inside the Thames Barrier. In order to protect an estimated 33000 households from flooding, the Environment Agency identified five Wharves along Deptford Creek for immediate replacement. Existing anchored timber pile structures were assessed to be reaching a stage where failure was imminent. The five identified locations were Kent Wharf, Ash’s Wharf, Thanet Wharf, Hilton’s Wharf and Saxon Wharf.

About The Project


At the highest frontage the 109m long Hilton’s Wharf has a retained face of 7m. Future development plans for the site precluded the use of permanent anchors to support the new wall and so an innovative solution facilitating a composite wall system (propped structure) was engineered by Jacobs / Volker Stevin.

The new wall was to have a 100 year design life and was to embrace the objectives of the Biodiversity Action Plan. The solution consists of a steel sheet pile wall made of around 1040tonnes of AZ 41-700 in grade S430 GP steel grade, and in 16.5m up to 17.5m lengths. These are supported by a row of 12m long 305x223 HP bearing piles driven at a 10 degree rake in front of the sheet pile wall, with timber planking spanning between each HP pile.

A mass concrete block was then poured between the sheet piles and HP piles lines down to the excavated depth, exposing the gravel layer, such that the structure acted in unison. The top of the concrete block level was Mean High Water Neap (MHWN) level such that the planting area above could offer maximized value of environmental habitat.

The construction of this innovative “composite cantilever” sheet pile wall presented its own challenges in that the working space was limited to only 10m behind the existing old walls which were in such poor state that they could not support construction surcharges. Besides, in some places the existing wall could not be subjected to vibration from conventional installation techniques.

To accommodate these requirements the AZ 41-700 sheet piles were installed behind the existing structure by an ABI Vibrator MRZV-V (variable frequency) on a leader rig, or where vibration was to be minimised, the subcontractor Stent / Giken used the Giken Crush Piler ECO 700S with a press force of around 100 tonnes. This pressing equipment incorporates an auger to bore ahead of the pile toe before the press pushes the piles down in combination with water-jetting.

The sheet piles were then tied back to a temporary deadman (concrete block). A specialist bridging mat was then installed, spanning from the deadman to the sheet piles and avoiding any surcharge on the ground behind the main wall. From this mat the excavator could remove the old timber structure and dig down to expose the gravel layer. Additionally, the HP raker piles could also be installed from the bridging mat. After fitting the timber planking between the HP piles mass concrete was poured between the walls which when cured bound the wall and the supporting HP pile wall into a kind of “A frame” composite structure.

The deflections measured during the temporary stage were lower than predicted in the design calculations. The criteria for deflection during the final phase is 200mm at ULS with a surcharge load of 20kPa behind the wall. A static reserve of steel thickness was taken into account in the design in order to achieve the design life. No surface treatment was implemented.

The condition of the existing walls, the site area restrictions, the requirement for a cantilever solution and duty of care to the Natural Habitat combined to pose quite a complex problem. Jacobs Engineering with early contractor involvement from Volker Stevin, adopted a combination of steel sheet piling and steel bearing piles to form a structure which elegantly met all technical and economic aspects of the project.

Flood Defences on the River Thames
Deptford Creek | UK


Client
Consultant to Client
Main Contractor
Consultant to Contractor
Subcontractor
Steel Sheet Piling
Length
Steel grade
Total
HP bearing piles
Environment Agency
Jacobs Engineering Group Inc.
Volker Stevin
Tony Gee & Partners
Stent / Giken Joint Venture
AZ 41-700
16.5 - 17.5m
S 430 GP
1040 tonnes
HP 305*223 12.0m